Broken Glasses

I really want to make these frames work again. They’re lovely, but the plastic parts are very frail. I’m considering using a resin of some kind to piece them together, I attempted to use superglue, but then the bridge broke while I was holding it to set.

It’s hard to find cats-eye frames like these now, I think these were my Omi’s from the mid-60s. She isn’t sure, but she said they aren’t her mother’s.

I guess the main problem with reconstructing the plastic is making them so lenses will still fit snugly in them. I don’t have tools to work with metal, or that would be a more sturdy option to work on.

2 responses to “Broken Glasses

  1. I used Araldite glue (a powerful resin-based compound) and a piece of styrofoam (those packing materials) to hold the broken piece together. It will takes at least 1 day to set and harden. Now, it just as good. Good luck.

  2. you know what it is!! black and yellow, haha just kidding but this is a really good blog. Keep up the nice writing. I was quite impressed!

Leave a Reply

