Findings in Omi’s Cupboard

Tanta Mala's Butter Cookies

This all may be moved to a new blog, I haven’t decided yet. My apologies to anyone who was enjoying my projects while I was doing them. After moving to my new apartment, many things changed, moved around, etc.

Most recently I was recruited lovingly encouraged by my family to take care of my 92-year-old grandmother (who is referred to as Omi) and this meant I was to move in with her. So, many arrangements are still in progress, but I’m mostly moved in and I have been slowly going through her cupboards and garage and have found many cute treasures.

I’m amazed how many of the things have just been sitting for 40 years or more in a drawer or shelf or in a box and they’re nearly as good as new in many cases.

Anyway, back to the image, this is a recipe that was written by my Omi, but the recipe belonged to my great great aunt (whom I was named after) Mala. Funny thing about that, is I am not named ‘Mala’ nor was she, but she was called that. Sort of like the girl who was named Macgill, she called herself Lil, but everyone knew her as Nancy.

The recipe for butter cookies reads (near as I can tell):

  • 1 lb flour (4 cups)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 150 fr zucker (sugar) (3/4 cup)
  • vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 lb butter + 1 oz.

I haven’t tried to make these, but my Omi says they’re delicious.

If you try these out, let me know!

Leave a Reply

