Attack of the Killer Tomatoes

Tomato Sproutlings!

Aren’t they adorable!? All nestled next to the potato bag on top of the fridge.

I found it particularly interesting that the little terra cotta pot had the dirt/moss/whatever that came with the seeds, and it only JUST started poking through with one little guy yesterday. While my bowl of compost and dirt with the rest of the seeds sprouted on Friday. I would have posted pictures but didn’t have it working at that point.

I heard starting the seeds in peat moss and some other drier loose things is more helpful for them to start, rather than compost, because they don’t really need the nutrients from the compost to start with. Thus, I was surprised that the compost worked more quickly.

Just to be clear, my compost is mixed with dirt as I make it, so it isn’t quite as “strong” as it might otherwise be.

Anyway, that is the main project progress report of the day, I have started on another one, non-garden related, but it’s a surprise for a friend and I’m not going to post it just yet.

Tune in next time!

~The Purple Pepper

One response to “Attack of the Killer Tomatoes

  1. thats cool.
    homegrown foods always taste better

Leave a Reply

